I know a lot of people here don't care for soccer, but a legend of the sport died today

Brazilian Pele, arguably the best soccer player ever, passed away. He was the sport’s equivalent of Muhammed Ali, Michael Jordan, Babe Ruth, and Wayne Gretzky.

Absolute legend. He was the reason I started playing and the true icon for all of us.

RIP to one of, if not THE best ever.

8 Likes

Only got to watch him very late in his career when he joined the Cosmos trying to get the US interested in soccer. But some of the old footage of his skills amazes me.

Truly among the very greatest to ever step foot on the pitch. (Would get my vote for GOAT, there would be those who have a differing opinion.)

3 Likes

Even though I was in the half generation before Americans tried to play soccer, everyone knew who Pele was.

His greatness overcame our profound ignorance.

(Ironically, though I never played soccer, I did end up coaching youth soccer for my boys’ teams. It was pretty easy. None of the parents understood the game either, so they watched the game and socialized while I yelled out “RUN!”)

6 Likes

Same. Coached it from 1977-1981. Saw it grow from a few hundred players in the valley to thousands.

2 Likes

I think he was the best Striker/Forward/Attacante, etc But he was a bit one dimensional in that regard. He wasnt particularly distinguished at PKs over the years.

For all-around player it would have to be first Maradona, then recently Messi with his WC win now. Both of these Argentine legends were brilliant at all aspects of the game, save goalkeeping! LOL I got to watch Diego for 4 years at San Paolo. I wonder what he would think of that Stadium being named after him now. I"ll be interested to see what else Messi can do before he “ages out”. Diego never really got that chance.