BYU academic standards are inflated

Background: I’m a teacher at a very affluent public high school here in Utah and as such, I’m privy to a lot of academic information about students that attend this school (transcripts and test scores). It’s very common for students at this school to have 3.9+ GPAs and receive around 20 on the ACT because of parent bullying of teachers and practically forcing us to inflate grades with nothing the admin can do to help. It’s a practice I refuse to engage in and a major reason I’m leaving this year after losing so many battles to maintain some semblance of academic rigor. Anyway, more than a few of my previous students have been accepted to BYU with such credentials. It’s a zoob’s favorite piece of “smack talk” and I thought you’d all find it humorous that it’s mostly crap. Private schools are what they are.

I seem to recall hearing similar statements about BYU’s academic rigor from another source. I wish I could give more info, but I don’t recall who said it, let alone when. What you said doesn’t surprise me, from either the HS grade inflation or the BYU academic “prowess.”

2 Likes

GPAs are inflated everywhere though, so wouldn’t almost all university avg GPAs be inflated. With the last couple years (and maybe in the future) not requiring standardized tests, they’ll be looking even more at other factors. Standardized tests are a better playing field, but still full of problems as it favors affluency with test prep.

Great series on college from Freakonomics lately - the ‘prestige’ factor and elitism is alive and well for some institutions.

2 Likes