New (under construction) Mill Creek Town Hall burns down?!

Holy crap! I came home (and it took me an hour to go three blocks to my house) which is about three blocks away from the brand new Mill Creek Town Hall complex center. I’m a former firefighter. I’ve never seen so many rigs at a construction site in my life.
This is devastating. I mean who winds up taking the $$$ hit for this: the bonding company? The taxpayers? I certainly hope no one was injured or killed, but wow! How does that happen? Unbelievable.

I don’t know if it was the new town hall or the apartment complex, but it was quite the sight. I live on the Taylorsville bluff and was watching it from an upstairs window through binoculars. The intensity was stunning. I hate to even estimate how high the flames were going up, but they were at least three times as high as the top of the construction project.

The Tribune is reporting one non-firefighter injury. I hope it’s not too serious and it’s amazing with that heat that there was only one injury. I can’t help but think that nearby businesses have some damage as well. Hyland Cyclery is my go-to shop, and they were right next door.

PS - were you a firefighter in SL County? If so, did you know now retired Deputy Chief Mike Watson?

It’s the new apartments under construction behind Adib’s rug gallery/Villa Theater. It’s not far from my house. Could see the flames through the trees at my place.

No I do not. I was a firefighter in Massachusetts - like100 years ago - My next door neighbor though is a firefighter with unified and have a dear dear pre-med buddy who’s a paramedic with Air Med.
It’s funny though, because whenever this like a major event like something like this always triggers me.
I’m sure your friend is a very decent man. Deputy Chief is a very high rank with a lot of responsibility

Then we are neighbors!
I definitely look forward to meeting you guys someday

1 Like